Quick Answer: How Do I Deactivate My Old IPhone And Activate A New One?

Why is my old iPhone still activated?

This usually happens with the iCloud account that is signed on both phones.

That means, if iMessage and FaceTime is activated on both iPhones with same iCloud account, both of them will receive the call or text messages.

Just change the way you receive the calls or text messages..

What do I do with my old iPhone after upgrade?

You finally upgraded! Now what are you supposed to do what that 4-year old iPhone?Sell or donate it.Make it a dedicated music player.Turn it into a kid’s entertainment device.Make it an Apple TV remote.Make it a permanent car, bike, or kitchen fixture.Use it as a baby monitor.Turn it into your bedside buddy.

How do I remove everything from my old iPhone?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset. … Choose Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•

What do you do with old iPhones that don’t work?

Apple takes old iPhones off your hands, and you might even get some Apple Store credit for it through the Apple Trade In program. You can either drop it off at your local Apple retail store or mail it in.

Do you have to turn in your old phone when you upgrade?

You basically have two options when it comes to your old phone: you keep it or you ditch it. That’s the basis of it, anyway. If you decide to keep your device, then you at least have a back-up plan in the case that something happens to your new phone.

Will erasing my old iPhone affect my new one?

Erasing the old device will not affect the new one. That is necessary for you to be able to wipe the device.

Can you switch your old iPhone for a new one?

Once you’re fully backed up, turn off your old device. If you have a SIM card that you want to use, you can switch that from the old to new phone now.

Does erase all content and settings delete everything?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

How do I clean my iPhone before selling it?

Remove your personal information from your old deviceIf you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.Back up your device.Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. … Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.More items…•

Can you wipe a stolen iPhone?

To cut down on ‌iPhone‌ theft, Apple implemented a tool way back in iOS 7 called Activation Lock that renders an ‌iPhone‌ unusable without the owner’s Apple ID or password. … Your ‌iPhone‌ can even be wiped completely and it will still be locked down, making it almost useless to anyone but you.

Can I still use my old phone after upgrade?

You can certainly keep your old phones and put them to use. When I upgrade my phones, I’ll probably replace my crumbling iPhone 4S as my nightly reader with my comparably new Samsung S4. You can also keep and re-carrier your old phones. … My advice is this: keep your old phone for fun and games.